top of page

The Different Karats of Gold

When buying gold jewellery, it is important to know the difference between the various types of gold available. Gold jewellery is typically made with 10K, 14K, 18K, or 24K gold. The “K” stands for “karat” and is a measure of the fineness of gold. The higher the karat number, the more gold is present in the jewellery.

10K gold contains the least amount of gold with 41.7% gold content. 10K gold is the most durable because it is the hardest and it is more affordable than higher karat gold jewellery. 10K gold jewellery is typically used to make rings and other everyday jewellery.

14K gold is the most popular karat used in jewellery. It is made up of 58.3% gold content, making it a strong and durable choice. It is also more affordable than 18K and 24K gold.

18K gold is softer and more malleable because it contains 75% gold content. 18K gold is more expensive and is used for special pieces of jewellery like engagement rings.

24K gold is the purest form of gold, containing 99.9% gold content. It is softer and more malleable due to its high gold content and is usually used for special pieces and coins. 24K gold jewellery is more expensive than 10K, 14K, and 18K gold and is not recommended for everyday wear.

When shopping for gold jewellery, it is important to consider the karat of the gold. The higher the karat, the more gold content and the more valuable and expensive the jewellery will be. 10K gold is the most affordable and the most durable, while 24K gold is the purest and most expensive.

2 weergaven0 opmerkingen

Recente blogposts

Alles weergeven
bottom of page